Easy wins for B'lore Division

Easy wins for B'lore Division

Bangalore Division registered easy victories on the opening day of South Western Railway Sports Association’s three-day inter-divisional badminton championship at the Railway Sports ground in Hubli on Tuesday.

Bangalore Division scored identical 2-0 wins over RPF and Hubli Division.

In their opening match, Bangalore Division’s T Nagendra notched up a 21-12, 21-10 win over RPF’s B Kumar and the doubles pair of Jamsheed and Sanjeeth completed the formalities with a 21-11, 21-10 win over P Samuel and B Kumar.

Nagendra once again came up with a clinical show to beat Mallikarjun 21-7, 21-3 to give Bangalore Division a promising start against Hubli. The Jamsheed and Sanjeet duo then waltzed past Prasanna and Gurunath 21-9, 21-11.

Results: Bangalore Division bt RPF 2-0 (T Nagendra bt B Kumar 21-12, 21-10; Jamsheed/ Sanjeeth bt P Samuel/ B Kumar 21-11, 21-10); Hubli Workshop bt Headquarters 2-0 (M Lincoln bt Rajashekar Babu 21-8, 14-21, 21-10; M Lincoln/ Rajashekar bt Sheebab/ Govardhan 21-13, 21-18); Mysore Workshop bt Hubli Division 2-0 (Shanker bt Srinivasulu 21-11, 21-14; Shanker/ Sujeet bt Shiva Kumar/ Shafi Kazi 21-16, 21-18); Hubli Workshop bt Mysore Division 2-0 (MJ Lincoln bt Rohit Dubey 25-23, 21-17; MJ Lincoln/ Parthasarathy bt Varaprasad/ Shibin Baby 21-16, 21-18); Bangalore Division bt Hubli Division 2-0 (Nagendra bt Mallikarjun 21-7, 21-4; Jamsheed/ Sanjeeth bt Prasanna/ Gurunath 21-9, 21-11); RPF bt Mysore Workshop 2-1 (P Samuel lt to Shanker 14-21, 21-18, 20-22; P Samuel/ B Kumar bt Rafiulla Khan/ Shivakumar 21-14, 21-9; B Kumar bt Sujeet 15-21, 21-11, 21-9).