Tirumalesh, Peter Lewis, late Jerome D'Souza, 7 others selected for Sandesha awa

Tirumalesh, Peter Lewis, late Jerome D'Souza, 7 others selected for Sandesha awa

Writer Dr K V Tirumalesh, Catherine Rodrigues, Peter Lewis and Shree Padre are among the 10 people who have been selected for the prestigious Sandesha awards this year. 

Selection Committee Chairman and litterateur Na D’Souza announced the names at a press conference here on Thursday.  Kannada literature award

Writer Dr K V Tirumalesh will be honoured with Sandesh Kannada Literature Award. The writer has 30 literary works to his credit including poetry, short stories, novels, reviews and columns. He won ‘Karnataka Sahitya Academy Award’ for his anthologies ‘Avadha’ and ‘Sammukha’. 

Konkani literature award

Konkani Translator M Madhava Pai, also known as ‘Konkani Shabda Ratnakara’ has been selected for Sandesha Konkani Literature Award. He has collected Konkani riddles and folklore and recently brought out a 750 page ‘Kannada –Konkani dictionary’. 

Tulu literature award

Catherine Rodrigues who has 30 years of Tulu literary career will be honoured with Sandesha Tulu Literature Award. She has written 57 Tulu dramas. She has won Late Dharmastala Ratnavarma Heggade Tulu Drama Writing Competition for 10 times.

Cinema / TV award

Geethapriya (Laxman Rao Mohite) has been selected for Sandesha Cinema Award. Geethapriya is a well known song-writer, story-writer, dialogue-writer as well as a film director. He directed ‘Mannina Maga,’ ‘Yava Janmada Maitri,’ ‘Prachanda Putanigalu’ movies. Named ‘Geethapriya’ by Sri Vijaya Bhaskar, he has also been the recipient of the prestigious ‘Puttanna Kanagal Award’.

Arts award

International artiste Peter Lewis has been selected for Sandesha Arts Award. Lewis has exhibited his excellence in Mural decoration. His art exhibition at Texas in USA in 1967 brought him international recognition. Since 1992, he has been guiding many a budding artists through his own ‘Chitralaya’ at Brahmavar in Udupi district.

Journalism award

Editor of the monthly ‘Honnapura Samvada’ Indhudhara Honnapura has been selected for  Sandesha Journalism Award. He is also the founder-editor of ‘Suddi Sangathi’ in 1985.  At the young age of 20, he started a movement for the liberation of the Dalits through ‘Parichaya’.  Ever since, he has had a preferential option for the poor.

Media edn award

Well known agriculturist and writer Shree Padre has been selected for Sandesha Media Education Award. Rain-harvesting has been one of his creative contributions. His paper ‘Adike Patrike’ and 11 books on the subject have enlightened the farmers. 

He is a member of the Water Resource Authority of the Government of Karnataka. It was he who awakened the Kerala Government on the danger of Endosulfan.

Best teacher award

Sandhesha Best Teacher Award has been won by Sr Maria Jyothi AC, pioneer in the education of the specially-abled children in Mangalore. She was the Founder Principal of St Agnes Special School. She helped to establish special schools in coastal districts. She started training courses for the teachers in order to train such students in various skills.

Konkani music award

Late Jerome  D’Souza has been selected for the Sandesha Konkani Music Award. D’Souza has composed more than 1,000 songs in Konkani, brought out 14 music albums, and published 2 anthologies called ‘Amchim Podam’ (Our Songs). He has presented his songs on Akashvani, Mumbai and endeared himself to his listeners by his popular Konkani songs.

Spl award

The jury has selected John D’Silva for the Sandesha Special Recognition Award. D’Silva is a crusader of cooperative banking, an educationist and a philanthropist. A lover of Konkani language and literature, he is also a social worker. 

The award carries a cash prize of Rs 10,000, a citation, a shawl and a trophy. 


Giving details about the programme, Sandesha Foundation Director Fr Valerian Mendonca said that the award presentation ceremony will be held at Sandesha premises at Premnagar in Mangalore on February 26 at 5.30 pm. 

Mangalore diocesean Bishop Rev Dr Aloysius Paul D’Souza will preside over the awards ceremony while noted writer Vaidehi will be the chief guest. 

Sandesha Foundation Chairman and Bellary Diocese Bishop Rev Dr Henry D’Souza will grace the occasion.