Goans upset holders TN

Goans upset holders TN

Ojhas five-for spurs Hyderabad

From having been bowled out for a sorry 54 by Karnataka on Monday’s opening day to stunning defending champions Tamil Nadu on Tuesday, Goa made a quick turnaround in their fortunes in the South Zone one-day tournament for the KS Subbaiah Pillai Trophy here at the JIRS ground.

Opting to bowl first, Goa shot out Tamil Nadu for a modest 200 in 46.5 overs before racing to victory in just 37 overs with seven wickets to spare. At one stage, TN were reeling at 130 for seven, but a late-order flourish saw them reach a respectable total.

Hard-hitting opener Swapnil Asnodkar was Goa’s hero, blasting his way to an unbeaten 102 (104b, 16x4). His unseparated 153-run association with Rahul Keni (70 n.o., 76b, 8x4, 1x6) for the fourth wicket sealed a famous win for the Goans.

Having won the match with a bonus point, Goa, who were docked a point on Monday, now are on four points from two matches. TN too are on four points after losing a point for conceding a bonus to Goa. The low-scoring trend continued at the Chinnaswamy stadium with another match ending early. Hyderabad made short work of traditional rivals Andhra to win with a bonus point and draw level with leaders Karnataka on points (9). Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha bagged a five-for (5/19) as Hyderabad bowled out Andhra for 107 in 26.3 overs. Led by skipper DB Ravi Teja’s measured 42, Hyderabad raced to 111 for four in 22.5 overs to complete the formalities.  

Brief scores: At Chinnaswamy stadium: Andhra: 107 all out in 26.3 overs (AG Pradeep 34; Ashish Reddy 2-33, Pragyan Ojha 5-19, PK Naidu 2-13) lt to Hyderabad: 111/4 in 22.5 overs (DB Ravi Teja 42; B Sudhakar 2-24). Hyderabad 5 pts, Andhra -1.

At JIRS ground: Tamil Nadu: 200 all out in 46.5 overs (Dinesh Kaarthick 43, K Shri Vasudeva Das 43, Suresh Kumar 27; Robin D’Souza 3-24, Shadab Jakati 3-36, Amith Yadav 2-48, Vidyadhar Kamath 2-20) lt to Goa: 201/3 in 37 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 102 n.o., Rahul Keni 70 n.o.). Goa 5 pts, TN -1.