EC issues notification for LS bypoll in Karnataka

Election Commission today issued the notification for the March 18 bye-election to the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat, setting in motion the poll process.

The last date for filing of nominations would be February 29 and the scrutiny taken up the next day.  March 1 will be the last day for withdrawal.

The counting of votes will be taken up on March 21, electoral authorities said here.
Ruling BJP, seeking to retain the seat vacated by chief minister D V Sadananda Gowda on his election to the state assembly recently, has nominated its former MLA and Yuva Morcha President V Sunil Kumar.

Opposition Congress has chosen former minister K Jayaprakash Hegde, who unsuccessfully contested the 2009 Lok Sabha election. JDS is yet to announce its candidate.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0