De Lange bowls SA to T20 series victory

De Lange bowls SA to T20 series victory

South Africa battled to a thrilling three-run win over New Zealand to claim the Twenty20 series 2-1 after the Black Caps suffered a dramatic late batting collapse in Auckland on Wednesday.

saviour Marchant de Lange is congratulated by team-mates after the paceman bowled SA to a series win. afp

New Zealand restricted South Africa 165 for seven and went into the last two overs needing just 10 runs for victory, only to fall short after losing three wickets, including ducks for Nathan McCullum and Doug Bracewell.

Adding to the tension, James Franklin and Tim Southee both had chances to snatch victory at the death off the bowling off Marchant de Lange but could not connect bat with ball.
Franklin needed a six off de Lange’s last ball but missed, scampering down the wicket for a run as the Proteas celebrated, then realised to their horror that the delivery had been ruled a no ball.

That gave Southee the opportunity to be the hero with a boundary but his air swing went nowhere near the ball, stranding New Zealand on seven for 162.

It was a disappointing end for New Zealand after Jesse Ryder marked his return from injury with 52 and openers Rob Nicol (33) and Martin Guptill (26) started their run chase brightly.


Levi c Nicol b Franklin    11   
Amla c N McCullum b Bracewell    33   
A Morkel c Nicol b Southee    10   
De Villiers b Nicol    29   
Duminy (run out)    38   
Ontong lbw Nicol    6   
Botha c Guptill b Southee    2   
Parnell (not out)    22   
Peterson (not out)    11   
Extras (LB-1, W-2)    3   
Total (for 7 wkts, 20 overs)    165   

Fall of wickets: 1-20, 2-39, 3-59, 4-121, 5-129, 6-130, 7-137.

Bowling: Hira 2-0-20-0, Bates 3-0-29-0, Franklin 2-0-23-1, Southee 4-0-22-2, Bracewell 4-0-28-1, N McCullum 2-0-22-0, Nicol 3-0-20-2.


Nicol c Levi b M Morkel    33   
Guptill c Amla b Botha    26   
Ryder c M Morkel b Botha    52   
B M’llum c De Villiers b Peterson    18   
Williamson c A Morkel b M Morkel    6   
Franklin (not out)    9   
N M’llum c De Villiers b De Lange    0   
Bracewell c Amla b De Lange    0   
Southee (not out    )0   

Extras (LB-5, W-12, NB-1)    18   

Total (for 7 wkts, 20 overs)    162   

Fall of wickets: 1-65, 2-73, 3-112, 4-142, 5-158, 6-160, 7-160.

Bowling: Peterson 4-0-34-1, De Lange 4-0-36-2, A Morkel 1-0-13-0, M Morkel 4-0-31-2, Botha 4-0-20-2, Parnell 1-0-14-0, Duminy 2-0-9-0.