Andhra Pradesh make clean sweep of titles

Andhra men outplayed Kerala 3-1 to clinch the Rahimtoola Cup while their women edged out Kerala 2-1 to bag the Chadha Cup. On Friday, Andhra boys and girls teams triumphed in convincing fashion.

RMV Guru Sai Dutt gave Andhra men the lead, beating KA Anish 21-15, 21-10 and B Sai Praneet made it 2-0 after scoring an easy 21-11, 21-16 win against Antony K Jacob.
N Srujan and N Arun teamed up to reduce the margin for Kerala.

The pair defeated Sanave Thomas and Arun Vishnu 21-8, 21-11. B Sumeet Reddy then battled past Thomas Kurien 21-16, 17-21, 21-16 to help Andhra post 3-1 win.
Results (both finals): Men: Andhra Pradesh bt Kerala 3-1 (RMV Guru Sai Dutt bt KA Anish 21-15, 21-10; B Sai Praneet bt Antony K Jacob 21-11, 21-16; N Srujan/ N Arun lt to Sanave Thomas/ Arun Vishnu 8-21, 11-21; B Sumeet Reddy bt Thomas Kurien 21-16, 17-21, 21-16).
Women: Andhra Pradesh bt Kerala 2-1 (N Sikki Reddy bt PC Thulasi 21-10, 22-24, 21-16; Sikki Reddy/ PV Sindhu lt to PC Thulasi/ Megamarin Ninan 17-21, 13-21; PV Sindhu bt Daya Elsa Jacob 21-18, 27-25).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0