Provident post win

Provident post win

Provident Bangalore Amit Verma drives one during his pulsating knock of 39 on Saturday. DH PHOTO Electing to bat, Provident made 98 for five after the match was reduced to 10-overs-a-side due to overnight rains. Diamonds were never really in the chase, managing to reach 62 for eight.

Provident’s start was shaky as they lost Thilak Naidu and MK Manjunath with just 12 on the board. They were pushed into a mini-crisis when Diamonds skipper Sunil Joshi scalped his opposite number Balachandra Akhil for 14.

At 28 for three, Provident were not exactly in a good position. But the scathing willow of Amit Verma (39, 21b, 5x4, 1x6) helped them reach a formidable total. Verma added 57 for the fourth wicket with Sunil Kumar Jain, who made an unbeaten 20.

Only Joshi of the Diamond bowlers made any impression, the veteran left-arm spinner returning exceptional figures of 2-0-8-3. 

Diamonds were hardly in picture in the second phase of the match, struggling against NC Aiyappa and company while searching for quick runs.

A few lusty blows from tailender M Nidish, who slammed Aniruddha Joshi for two sixes, took them past the 50-run mark.

Score board

Provident Bangalore: MK Manjunath c Raju b Raghavendra Rao 5; VS Thilak Naidu c Raghavendra Rao b M Nagaraj 4; B Akhil c P Patil b Joshi 14; Amit Verma b Joshi 39; Sunil Kumar Jain (not out) 20; NC Aiyappa st Gautam b Joshi 0; Sarfraz Ashraf (not out) 7; Extras (B-4, LB-1, NB-1, W-3) 9; Total (for 5 wkts, 10 overs) 98.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-11, 3-28, 4-85, 5-85

Bowling: A V Raghavendra Rao 2-0-20-1, M Nagaraj 2-0-15-1, Sunil Joshi 2-0-8-3, Sunil Raju 2-0-24-0, Pavan Deshpande 2-0-24-0.

SD Diamonds: Mayank Agarwal c Katti b Sunil Kumar 2; CM Gautam c Manjunath b Akhil 9; Yere Goud c Ashraf b Akhil 0; Prasanna Patil c&b Sunil Kumar  2; Syed Nooruddin c Aiyappa b Jagadeesh 1; Sunil Joshi (run out) 7; Sunil Raju st Naidu b Katti 6; Pavan Deshpande (not out) 10; M Nidish c&b A Joshi 18; Raghavendra Rao (not out) 1; Extras (W-5, LB-1) 6; Total (for 8 wkts, 10 overs) 62.

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-12, 3-12, 4-19, 5-22, 6-30, 7-35, 8-57.
Bowling: NC Aiyappa 2-0-8-0, Sunil Kumar 2-0-11-2, B Akhil 1-0-4-2, L Jagadeesh 2-0-12-1, Anand Katti 2-0-10-1, Aniruddh Joshi 1-0-16-1.