Yeddyurappa, CM factions head for showdown in Karnataka

State BJP President K S Eshwarappa today ruled out accepting the resignations of nine Ministers loyal to B S Yeddyurappa, who are pushing for replacing Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda with their nominee Jagadish Shettar.

"There is no question of accepting the resignation of the Ministers", he told reporters after meeting Gowda here.

Meanwhile, BJP's In-Charge of Karnataka Affairs Dharmendra Pradhan is arriving here today seeking to resolve the crisis facing the Government.

Eshwarappa said he is confident that Gowda and "friends" supporting Shettar would abide by any decision of the party's central leadership.

Minister for Labour and Sericulture, B N Bache Gowda, met Sadananda Gowda and later told reporters there is no question of change of leadership. He said all 12 Ministers who are "identified" with the Chief Minister would meet this afternoon.

"There is no question of leadership change. He will continue as Chief Minister", Bache Gowda asserted.

The Ministers who resigned are Shettar, C M Udasi, Basavaraja Bommai, Murugesh Nirani, V Somanna, Umesh Katti, M P Renukacharya, Revu Naik Belamagi and Raju Gowda.
Meanwhile, the Chief Minister met Governor H R Bhardwaj at the Raj Bhavan.

Comments (+)