BJP in a fix over House leader in Council

BJP in a fix over House leader in Council

The BJP, yet to recover from the berth pangs, is faced with another problem. The party has to take a decision on the appointment of the leader of the House in Legislative Council, and it isn’t going to be an easy choice. 

Unlike former chief minister D V Sadananda Gowda who was a member of the Council, the present Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar is a member of the Lower House and cannot be made the leader of the Upper House. The party has to choose between the three ministers – V Somanna, B J Puttaswamy and Kota Srinivas Poojary – all MLCs. Appointment of either of the three members is bound to raise the hackles of other members. Sources in the party said a decision will be taken in the BJPLP meeting on Thursday, before the session commences.  

Though there is nothing explicitly mentioned in the rules, the ruling party has to appoint a leader of the House. 

The BJP is set to renominate Vimala Gowda as the Legislative Council Deputy Chairperson. Thursday is the last date to file nominations. She is likely to be elected unopposed with the Congress and JD(S) not keen on fielding candidates. 

Elections, if required, would be held on Friday. Gowda was elected Deputy Chairperson of the council in January 2011.  Her tenure expired in June this year. She was re-elected to the Council for the third consecutive term from the Assembly recently. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)