No-confidence motion against GP chiefs defeated

No-confidence motion against GP chiefs defeated

In the 15-member Gram Panchayat in Chowdadenahalli , D A Bhagyamma Manjunath of Kalke village is president and Lakshmamma of Chokkapur village is the  vice-president.

Ten members okf Varthur Prakash faction had submitted a memorandum to the assistant commissioner regarding the no confidence motion against the president and the vice-president, said Bhagyamma, in a statement. The meeting in this connection was supposed to be held at 11 am on Wednesday. However, none of the members who sought no confidence motion turned up to the meeting. Hence, Assistant Commissioner Peddanna ended the meeting.

‘No factions in Cong’

Meanwhile, Legislator Varthur Prakash has said that now, the district Congress doesn’t have two faction - K H Muniyappa and K Srinivasgowda factions.  Speaking after launching road works in Hanumanthpur here recently, Prakash said, former minister K Srinivasgowda had stayed away from Congress, campaigning for the BJP during the previous Lok Sabha and Komul elections. Now, there is only district Congress committee, he said.  He said final decision on election of Kolar City Municipal Council for the second term will be taken after discussing with the senior leader of the district Congress and Union Minister K H Muniyappa. He said, his faction will be committed to the decision taken by them.

The CMC president’s selection will be held as per the prior agreement. Members V Prakash, K N Madhusoodhan Kumar and Jaffer are the aspirants. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily