BCCI justifies decision to appoint Patil

BCCI justifies decision to appoint Patil

Kumble to head technical committee; Biswal takes over as NCA chief

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday vindicated its decision to appoint former India batsman Sandeep Patil as the chairman of national selection committee.

In its AGM held in Mumbai, the BCCI re-constituted the selection panel and Patil replaced Krishnamachari Srikkanth at the helm. Roger Binny (South), Vikram Rathour (North), Saba Karim (East) and Rajinder Singh Hans (Central) comprise the rest of the new panel. The BCCI move surprised many as Patil’s name was not in the talks till the last moment, but BCCI president N Srinivasan said Patil fits the bill.

“It was the opinion of the Board that the previous selection committee did a very good job during their tenure (in which) India won the World Cup. We also wanted a person of sufficient stature to be the chairman and Sandeep Patil fits the bill. No one can question his credentials,” he said.

Patil has played 29 Tests and 45 ODIs for India, scoring 1,588 and 1,005 runs in the respective formats.  He has been working as the National Cricket Academy chairman. Ranjib Biswal will now head the NCA.

In another major appointment, former India stumper Chandrakant Pandit was named chairman of the junior selection committee, and Srinivasan said the former cricketer has to quit his job as a coaching director of the Rajasthan Cricket Association. The AGM also decided to raise the selectors’ annual remuneration from Rs 40 lakh to Rs 60 lakh, while for the junior selectors, it was doubled from Rs 20 lakh.

In another significant change, former skipper Anil Kumble has replaced Sourav Ganguly as the head of the BCCI’s technical committee. Srinivasan said the BCCI has adopted the anti-corruption code and it will be circulated to all its associations.

“Board made a surplus of over Rs 382 crore in the last fiscal as compared to Rs 192 crore the previous year and the gross revenue was Rs 849 crore, as compared to Rs 581 crore the previous year. During the year, the Board spent Rs 160 crore for infrastructure development (subsidy) as compared to Rs 130 crore the previous year.”

Important BCCI committees: Senior selection committee: Sandeep Patil (West-chairman), Vikram Rathour (North), S Saba Karim (East), Roger Binny (South), Rajinder Singh Hans (Central). Convenor: Sanjay Jagdale.

Junior selection committee: Chandrakant Pandit (West-chairman), Aman Kumar (North), Jayaram (South), Arup Bhattacharya (East), Pritam Gandhe (Central). Convenor: Anurag Thakur. Women’s selection committee: Gargi Banerjee (East- chairperson), Gulshan Sharma (North), Sudha Shah (South), Amrita Shinde (West), Rita Dey (Central). Convenor: Sanjay Jagdale Working Committee: N Srinivasan, Sanjay Jagdale, Anurag Thakur, Ajay Shirke, Arun Jaitley, N Shivlal Yadav, Chitrak Mitra, Niranjan Shah, Sudhir Dabir, Delhi and District Cricket Association, Tamil Nadu CA, CA of Bengal, Mumbai CA, UPCA, Services Sports Promotion Board, Kerala CA, Assam CA, Maharashtra CA, MPCA, Karnataka State CA, Punjab CA, Gujarat CA, Vidarbha CA, Hyderabad CA.  Tour, Programme and Fixture committee: Arun Jaitley (chairman), Md Aslam Goni, Vinod Phadke, Rajiv Singh,  Parimal Nathwani, Shoaib Ahmed; Convenor: Sanjay Jagdale. IPL Governing Council: Rajiv Shukla (chairman), Arun Jaitley, Anirudh Chaudhry, Dr Ganga Raju, Sanjay Patel, Amitabh Choudhary, Ravi Shastri, MP Pandove.