India retain squad

India retain squad

The senior selection committee under Sandeep Patil retained the 15-member squad, which lost the Mumbai Test to England, for the third Test beginning at the Eden Gardens on December 5.

Fast bowler Umesh Yadav, who didn’t play the Mumbai Test due to a sore back, was left out, and Bengal pacer Ashok Dinda was included in the squad as a full-time member. Dinda was called up as a cover for Yadav ahead of the second Test here.

The BCCI had earlier said the selection panel would pick squad for the remaining two Tests in Kolkata and Nagpur and the following two T20s. But as it turned out they named the squad only for the third Test.

Yadav has been advised a 10-day rest, and his fitness will be assessed on a later day. The pacer will also undergo a stint at the National Cricket Academy.

Indian squad will assemble in Kolkata on December 2, while the England team will travel to Kolkata on Friday after a short break in Mumbai.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Cheteshwar Pujara, R Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, M Vijay, Zaheer Khan.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!