Gram panchayat election in KGF sees tense moments

Gram panchayat election in KGF sees tense moments

Supporters of a candidate go missing just before voting

Gram panchayat election in KGF sees tense moments

The Jakkarasakuppa Gram Panchayat election, which evoked a lot of curiosity politically, was a bit tense as all three candidates participated in the voting on Friday.

The poll was a ‘matter of prestige’ for both the Congress and the BJP, but the winner in the end was a member of local leader Muniratnam Naidu’s faction, much to the dismay of the members of the political parties.

There was a close contest between Krishnappa and Manjunath for the post of the president. Three supporters of Manjunath in the GP were found missing on Friday, and the election officer was urged to get the police to search for them.

Others go ahead

The other members in the GP cast their vote and Krishnappa won the post of the president. Parvathamma won the post of the vice-president.

Manjunath, however, complained to the election officer that there had been discrepancies during the election.

There were arguments between supporters of both candidates, forcing the police to intervene and try to pacify them.

In Bangarpet

Polling on Friday for the posts of the president and vice-president of five gram panchayats in the taluk was peaceful.

Gowramma Narayanappa, supported by the BJP, was elected unopposed as the president of Kamasamudra GP. Gulzar won the poll as vice-president.

In Yalesandra, Manjunath and Naseer Taj won the posts of GP president and vice-president respectively.

Hunkunda GP has Venkatesh, supported by the BJP, as the new president and Manjula as the new vice-president.

In Chikka Ankandahalli, Congress-supported Anitha Chandra won the post the GP president, while Narayanamma Mutthappa won the post of the vice-president.

Sarasamma won the poll as the president of Doddavalagamaadi GP. Ambedkar won as the vice-president unopposed.