Uthappa dazzles

Robin Uthappa made a hurricane hundred (169, 118b, 16x4, 7x6) that spurred Karnataka to a facile four-wicket win over Goa in the opening match of the Vijay Hazare trophy inter-state South Zone tournament at the District Institute of Education and Training Ground, Porvorim, on Thursday.

The first segment of the match didn’t go Karnataka’s way as Goa, asked to bat first, piled up 318 for eight in 50 overs, courtesy a well-paced hundred by opener Shagun Kamat (110, 112b, 12x4, 2x6) and fifties by Amogh Desai (62, 46b, 5x4, 3x6) and Robin D’Souza (54, 38b, 7x4). Left-arm spinner KP Appanna was the most successful bowler for Karnataka, bagging three wickets conceding 56 runs off his full quota of 10 overs.

Karnataka lost opener KL Rahul early in the innings, but a massive second-wicket stand between Uthappa and Ganesh Satish (210 runs off 29.4 overs) put Karnataka firmly on the track.

GOA: Sagun Kamat c Ninan b Mithun 110; Manvinder Bisla lbw Mithun 0; Swapnil Asnodkar c Avinash b Appanna 29; Reagan Pinto lbw Appanna 9; Ravikant Shukla b Nair 23; Keenan Vaz c Avinash b Appanna 9; Amogh Desai (run out) 62; Robin D'Souza (run out) 54; Shadab Jakati (not out) 4; Saurabh Bandekar (not out) 3; Extras (LB-4, W-11) 15; Total (for 8 wkts; 50 overs) 318.

Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-51, 3-65, 4-146, 5-176, 6-203, 7-310, 8-311.

Bowling: Abhimanyu Mithun 10-0-66-2, HS Sharath 9-0-57-0, Stuart Binny 10-0-67-0, KP Appanna 10-0-56-3, Ryan Ninan 8-0-51-0, Karun Nair 3-0-17-1.

KARNATAKA: KL Rahul c Shukla b Gawas 4; Robin Uthappa c D’Souza b Jakati 169; Ganesh Satish st Bisla b Pinto 61; Manish Pandey c Jakati b Pinto 0; Karun Nair (not out) 32; Stuart Binny (not out) 31; Extras (W-18, LB-4) 22; Total (for 4 wkts, 46.3 overs) 319.
Fall of wickets: 1-20, 2-234,  3-234, 4-267.

Bowling: Shadab Jakati 12-0-76-1, Saurabh Bandekar 7.3-1-53-0, Robin Dsouza 10-0-63-0, GM Gawas 9-0-68-1, Reagan Pinto 7-1-35-2, Amogh Desai 1-0-20-0.

Other scores: Andhra 228 all out in 46.2 overs (A Majumdar 60 n.o., KS Shahabuddin 34; Sunil Sam 3-37, Rahil Shah 3-54) bt Tamil Nadu: 221/9 in 50 overs (Dinesh Kaarthick 70, S Badrinath 53, B Aparajith 30; KS Shahabuddin 4-33).

Hyderabad: 192/8 in 50 overs (H Vihari 81, Ashish Reddy 39, Amol Shinde 39 n.o; P Parameswaran 4-24, Sandeep Warrier 3-30) lt to Kerala: 193/4 in 39.2 overs (Rohan Prem 93, Robert Fernandez 31).

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!