Cong wins no-trust vote in AP

Cong wins no-trust vote in AP

142 MLAs back the crisis-hit government

The Congress government in Andhra Pradesh survived a no-confidence motion on Saturday, with 142 MLAs backing the crisis-laden government. While 58 legislators voted in favour of the TRS-sponsored motion, 64 remained neutral and 25 were absent.

The voting laid bare the fact that the government no longer commanded a simple majority in the 294-member House. Its survival can be attributed to the TDP and MIM’s decision to abstain from voting.

However, a few dissident Congress and TDP MLAs voted in favour of the motion introduced by TRS leader Eetela Rajendra.

With Saturday’s voting, Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy survived the second no-confidence motion of his political career.

Nine Congress members - Ranga Rao, Dwarampudi Chandrasekhar Reddy, Aalla Nani, Perni Nani, Rajesh, Siva Prasada Reddy, Gottipati Ravi Kumar, Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy and Jogi Ramesh - ignored a whip to vote against the government.

The six TDP legislators who defied party chief Chandra Babu Naidu’s direction to stay neutral were Kodali Nani, Praveen Kumar Reddy, Amaranath Reddy, Bala Nagireddy, K Vanita and Sai Raju.

Talking to the media, TRS leaders Eetela Ravinder and Harish Rao said though the government won technically, it was a moral defeat.
Meanwhile, the Assembly was adjourned after the Opposition stalled proceedings over the Babli project and the Telangana issue. Speaker N Manohar adjourned the House till Monday.

The House, which reassembled a few hours after the no-confidence motion was defeated, witnessed an uproar with the TDP and TRS members stalling the proceedings. While the TDP wanted a debate on the Babli project, being built by Maharashtra across Godavari river, the TRS insisted on passing a resolution for carving out a separate Telangana state. After the Speaker rejected the adjournment motions, the legislators rushed to the podium.

The TDP contended that the Babli project will affect the state’s interests. Even Finance Minister Anam Ramnarayan Reddy’s promise to call an all-party meeting on the issue failed to pacify the TDP members. The government rejected the TRS’ demand saying that the Telangana issue falls under the purview of the central government.