308 more polling booths in B'lore Urban

308 more polling booths in B'lore Urban

As many as 308 more polling stations will be set up in the seven Assembly constituencies coming under Bangalore Urban district for the forthcoming elections.

“We have seen an increase in the voting population in Byatarayanpura, Dasarahalli, Yelahanka, Anekal, Mahadevpura, Bommanahalli and Bangalore South constituencies. With a cap of 1,200 to 1,500 voters per polling station, it has been decided to set up 308 more polling booths in these constituencies,” Bangalore Urban Deputy Commissioner V Ponnuraj said here on Friday.

Ponnuraj said 158 designated polling stations will be shifted from their present location on account of space constraints.

Citing an example, he said the polling booth at Kendriya Vidyalaya in Yelahanka had to be shifted since the institution has been designated as the centre for National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test (NEET). Similarly, a polling centre in Byatarayanapura had to be shifted as only five rooms were available there against the required seven rooms.

The increase in the number of polling booths will apparently call for additional security forces. The Election Commission will decide on deployment of forces including personnel from paramilitary forces, Ponnuraj said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)