Will Jeevaraj achieve hat trick in Sringeri?

Sringeri, which usually draws devotees to its lap, is now drawing attention of the people for political reasons.

With only a few days left for the filing of nominations for the Assembly constituency, Sringeri assembly constituency has got itself ready to face the election heat.

Sringeri constituency was formed comprising the parts of N R Pura taluk, Koppa, Sringeri and Chikmagalur taluks. During the first assembly election in 1952, the assembly was known as Theerthahalli-Koppa constituency. Sringeri constituency is plaguing with some of the major unsolved problems like maoism and yellow leaf diseases affecting arecanut. The constituency which was once the strong forte of the Congress, later went into the hands of Janatha Parivar and JD(S). However, the BJP has won the constituency for the last two terms.

Food and Civil Supplies Minister D N Jeevaraj who is the second time MLA of Sringeri, would stand in the line of Kadidal Manjappa, if he wins the election for the third consecutive term. Jeevaraj will have a tough competition from T D Rajegowda (Congress) and Thalakane Rajendra (JDS). Other parties like BSR Congress and CPI(M) too have shown the indication of fielding their candidates, to make the election more interesting.

Former chief minister Late Kadidal Manjappa and education reformer H G Govindegowda-popular as Malnad Gandhi, hold the credits of winning three times from this constituency. Kadidal Manjappa,  who first won the election in 1952, was a hat trick winner. Former rural development minister Begane Ramaiah, former law and parliamentary affairs minister and speaker D B Chandregowda were elected for one term from Sringeri.

However, the most interesting aspect about this constituency is that, the party to which the elected MLA belongs to, has come to power in the State  so far. During all the victories of Kadidal Manjappa, the Congress had come to power. When Congress candidate K N Veerappa Gowda was elected in 1967 and 1972, the Congress had come to power, when Congress candidate Begane Ramaiah had won in 1978, then too the Congress had come to power.

For the first time, H G Govindegowda was elected from Janatha Parivar in 1983, and to once astonishment, Janatha Parivar held the power in the State. Within a span of two years, Janatha government was dismissed, and the State had to face mid-term election in 1985. Janatha candidate Govindegowda won the mid term poll and Janatha Parivar too came to power again. In 1989 election, Congress candidate U K Shamanna won with majority votes and the Congress resumed the power in the State. In 1994 election, when Govindegowda was elected MLA from the JD(S), call it a co-incidence or not, to once astonishment, the JD(S) came to power in the State.

In the 1999 election, Congress candidate D B Chandregowda won the seat and the Congress government came to power in Karnataka. For the first time, in 2004 election, the BJP candidate D N jeevaraj won the election. Due to the lack of majority, Congress and JD(S) coalition government came into existence, however it did not lost long, following which BJP and JD(S) coalition government came into existence.

In the 2008 election, Jeevaraj won for the second term and the BJP came to power in the State. The political analysts are hoping for ‘co-incidence’ this time too, where the party to which the winning candidate belongs would come to power in the State.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!