Numbers of Independents on a rise

Numbers of Independents on a rise

Independents have won only 12 times in six decade political history

The national and regional party candidates who had hoped for a easy win in the upcoming polls are a worried lot as there are 15 Independents in the fray from four Assembly constituencies in Chamarajanagar district.

In all, 20 Independents had filed their nominations and five withdrew from the race on the last day leaving. In all, 47 candidates are contesting from the four constituencies, which is the highest number recorded in the district till date.

Out of 40 candidates who contested in the year 2008, 15 of them were Independents.

In 1994, 52 contested from five Assembly constituencies (Santhemarahalli constituency doesn’t exist now) of whom, 21 of them were Independents. This has remained a record till date. But the polls were held for five constituencies.

New record

In the current polls, of the 47 candidates, 15 of them are Independents -- Kollegal - 3, Gundlupet - 2, Chamarajanagar - 5 and Hanur - 5. The number of contestants are also more when compared to 2008 polls. However, in the six decade political history of the district, Independents have won only 12 times. In the 2004 elections, S Balraj who entered the contest as an Independent tasted victory, after which Independents have had no such luck.

Women candidates

Two women candidates had filed their nominations for the upcoming polls. However, Nagarathna, an Independent candidate from Kollegal withdrew her papers, leaving Parimala Nagappa from Hanur as the sole woman candidate in the fray.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)