Ministry to be sworn in tomorrow

Last Updated 16 May 2013, 21:01 IST

The much-awaited formation of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s council of ministers has been delayed by a day.

New ministers will be sworn in on Saturday, instead of Friday, at 10:30 am at Raj Bhavan here.

Siddaramaiah was sworn in on May 13 at Kanteerava Stadium. For the swearing in of the two dozen minister-designates, Raj Bhavan has been selected as the venue. The crowd had become unmanageable for the police at the stadium. The glass house, at the most, can accommodate 1,500 people. The police, in all probability, will be limiting the entry only to minister-designates and their close relatives, sources said.

The formation of the council of ministers has been put off owing to the delay on the part of the Congress high command in finalising names for cabinet berths.

 More than 50 MLAs, mostly seniors, have been camping in New Delhi for the last three days to lobby with the high command for cabinet berths. So intense is the lobbying among the aspirants that many of them are trying to spike others’ chances by complaining about one another.

Siddaramaiah and KPCC chief G Parameshwara, too, are in Delhi meeting leaders on the selection of new ministers. Parameshwara, who failed to win the Koratagere seat, is demanding the post of deputy chief minister.

Two-tier ministry

The chief minister is likely to have a two-tier ministry consisting of Cabinet ministers and ministers of state. In all probability, each district will get one representation in the Cabinet. Bangalore, however, may get two berths. The undivided Dharwad district may get one. If this happens, a vast district like Belgaum may get more than one representation.

(Published 16 May 2013, 21:01 IST)

Follow us on