Jayesh, Azhar star for JSC (1)

Jayesh, Azhar star for JSC (1)

Jawahars to take on Vultures Cricket Club in summit clash

Jayesh Babu’s big hundred and good bowling by Azharuddin helped Jawahar Sports Club (1) come away with innings honours against Friends Union Cricket Club (FUCC) and reach the final of the KSCA Group I, Division I, II, III (under-16) inter-club tournament here.

Jawahars will clash with Vultures Cricket Club, who beat Jawans Cricket Club by five wickets in the second semifinal, in the summit clash.

Batting first, FUCC were all out for 327 in 80.3 overs with Sanath Naik’s 100 the highlight and Chandan M contributing with 54. Azharuddin scalped 3/76 while Kishan Bendre (2/47), Yashas (2/61) and Shreyas (2/23) picked up two wickets apiece for Jawahars.

In reply, Jawahars were bowled out for 430 in 88.4 overs for a first innings lead of 103. Jayesh slammed 191 while Srinidhi (45), Bendre (41) and Shreyas (44) chipped in with useful contributions.

FUCC were restricted to 37/3 in their second innings.

In the second last-four match, Jawans CC were skittled out for 170 in 47.5 overs in their first essay. A Abhishek claimed 7/64 for Vultures CC and T Pruthvi picked up two wickets. Vultures CC were all out for 191 in 45.5 overs with B Madan (48), Pruthvi (41) and Rishi Boppanna SA (34) the topscorers for a 21-run first innings lead.

Pruthvi wrecked havoc taking 6/39 to send Jawans packing for 151 in 30 overs in their second essay setting Vultures a target of 131 for victory.

Vultures reached the target scoring 133/5 in 29.1 overs with Varun K (42) leading the way.

Brief scores: Semifinals: Friends Union Cricket Club: 327 all out in 80.3 overs (Anirudh Vidyabushan 36, Shivukumar BV 41, Sanath Naik 100, Chandan M 54; Kishan Bendre 2-47, Yashas 2-61, Azharuddin 3-76, Shreyas 2-23) and 37/3 in 7 overs (Vasuki 2-27) drew Jawahar Sports Club (1): 430 all out in 88.4 overs (Akshay Srinidhi 45, Jayesh Babu 191, Kishan Bendre 41, Sudheer Chauhan 29, Shreyas BM 44; Dipeesh Poonai 2-56, Likith M Bannur 4-113, Sanath Naik 2-87).

Jawans Cricket Club: 170 all out in 47.5 overs (Vimal Singh 28, Abhiram V 37; A Abhishek 7-64, T Pruthvi 2-53) and 151 all out in 30.5 overs (Vinay N Sagar 29, Abhiram V 51; Mehul Badyal 2-39, T Pruthvi 6-39) lt to Vultures Cricket Club: 191 all out in 45.5 overs (B Madan 48, Rishi Boppanna SA 34, T Pruthvi 41; Alvish Chorrea 2-40, Prithvi Gaira 4-54, Sureen MN 3-7) and 133/5 in 29.1 overs (Varun K 42, Rishi Bopanna SA 29; Vailish Prabhu 2-30).