Shishir, Parappa shine on day one

Shishir, Parappa shine on day one

Dharwad in control against Raichur

Shishir, Parappa shine on day one

Shishir Bhavane and Parappa Mordi came up with fine individual performances to spur Dharwad Zone to a commanding position against Raichur Zone on the opening day of the two-day under-25 SA Srinivasan Memorial Trophy tournament at the M Chinnaswamy stadium here on Saturday.

Mordi (4/46) and Ganesh Aihole (3/30) shared seven wickets between them as Dharwad bundled out Raichur for a paltry 143 in a little over 42 overs on a day when rain spared the City.

Dharwad made the most of a clear day with the bat as well, amassing 253 for five at close for a lead of 110 runs.

Left-handed Bhavane was in the forefront of their surge, making a quick unbeaten 146 off 155 balls that contained 13 hits to the fence and four sixes. KP Bipin (44) was the other leading scorer from the Dharward camp.

Sanjeev Nayak took four wickets (4/91) for Raichur but Bhavane’s effort was too immense to overshadow.

Brief scores: Raichur Zone: 143 all out in 42.2 overs (Raj Kumar N 25, Abdul Nauman 27; Parappa Mordi 4-46, Ganesh Aihole 3-30) vs Dharwad Zone: 253/5 in 55 overs (Shishir Bhavane 146 n.o., Bipin KP 44; Sanjeev Nayak 4-91).
Mysore Zone: 125 all out in 43 overs (Naveen 34, Sunash 46; Rahul Gautham 2-22, Shimon Luiz 4-35, Shreyas Gopal 2-21) vs Secretary’s XI: 193/3 in 55 overs (Shreays Gopal 87 n.o., GM Rishab 47; Suhas 3-57).
President’s XI: 305/8 in 90 overs (Roham Kodam 71, Abhinav Manohar 41, M Vijayakumar 33, David Mathias 67, J Suchith 58 n.o.; Aditya Sommanna 2-62, Santrup Chandra 2-56) vs Bangalore City XI: 13/0 in 11 overs.
Vice President’s IX: 146/6 in 48 overs (Nishanth Shekwat 61, Abrar Kazi 40 n.o.; Hoysala K 5-27) vs Shimoga Zone (Start delayed due to rain).
Bangalore Zone: 167 all out in 66.1 overs (Mayank Aggarwal 73; R Prabhakar 2-28, Hardik Munoth 5-31) vs Combined City XI: 48/1 in 24 overs.
Tumkur Zone: 257 all out in 76.1 overs (Manu Ravindra 67, Vishwanath HK 52 n.o., Sachin TM 39; Darshan 2-40, Sampath Shetty 2-61, Pawan G 2-29, Ritesh Bhatkal 4-77) vs Mangalore Zone: 143/6 in 34.5 overs (Nishanth Hegde 47; Sharath SP 2-16, Goddappa 2-16).