JD(S) stages protest against erratic power supply

JD(S) stages protest against erratic power supply

Agitators resort to road blockade; rampant corruption in Bescom alleged

Party members, headed by former minister D Nagarajaiah, JD(S) District President H Ningappa, former legislator S P Muddahanumegowda and Ansuyamma, assembled at the inspection bungalow at 11 am and took out a protest rally until the taluk office.

They also blocked the roads for about 10 minutes.
Addressing the protesters at the taluk office, D Nagarajaiah said that the power crisis had worsened since the BJP government had not taken any initiative to increase power generation or to buy electricity from other states.

 “The chief minister has failed to solve the problems of the people,” he said and added that ever since the BJP came to power farmers were not being provided with sufficient electricity, water, fertilisers and seeds.

“In spite of a continuous drought during the tenure of S M Krishna, the power situation had not worsened to this extent. There is rampant corruption in the Bescom and one has to struggle to even get one transformer sanctioned,” he alleged.

Nagarajaiah further alleged that the taluk administration had completely collapsed and the tahsildhar office had become the centre of corruption. He claimed that the police department were no different and added that the police were being controlled by a political leader.
 “Recently, the suicide case of a girl reported in Kunigal police station limits was dubbed as murder. Similarly a trivial fight in the Huliyurudurga police station limits was termed as communal violence and many people were unnecessarily troubled,” he alleged.

Former legislator S P Muddahanumegowda expressed his unhappiness over the political crisis in the State saying: “It is unfortunate that ministers are ignoring the welfare of the people and are instead busy in the struggle for power.”
JD(S) District President H Ningappa, former legislator S P Muddahanumegowda and leader Ansuyamma, Zilla Panchayat member K H Shivanna spoke.

Taluk President K L Harish, Taluk President Vice President Chikkanna, members Lokesh, Rajanna, Town Municipal Council President Rajeshwari Suganda Raju, Zilla Panchayat member N R Lakshminarayana, Ravi D Nagarajaiah, Y H Huchhaiah and others were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily