Bitter day for boxer Sanjay

Belgaum pugilist knocked unconscious, hospitalised

Belgaum’s Sanjay Gawade gave some anxious moments to his team-mates at the State boxing championships on Friday as he lost consciousness following the semifinal bout in the men’s light welterweight category, bringing to light the lack of proper medical facilities at the venue.

Sanjay, fighting Vishnu of BBC in the semifinal, was knocked down in the first round itself, forcing the referee to stop the contest. After a few minutes, he fell unconscious, causing panic among his team-mates. He was treated by a doctor at the venue but there was no ambulance in place and finally, the boxer was taken to the nearby Mallya hospital in a car.

Sanjay regained consciousness later but the doctors advised further tests. Later, he was moved to the Command Hospital, where he is recovering.  “He is alright now but is under observation,” said Karnataka Boxing Association secretary Martin Rajendran. “We had a doctor at the venue. We didn’t have an ambulance but we shifted him quickly to the hospital,” he said.

Results: Men: Lightweight: Semifinals: Vincent Paul (SAK) bt Rakesh (RBC).
Quarterfinals: Rakesh (RBC) bt Samsan (KARBC); Vincent Paul (SAK) bt Kaleem Khan E (Green); Dinakaran (BBC) bt Vikram Singh (Hosanna); Shanmugam (MEG) bt Vasanth (RWF).

Light Welterweight: Semifinals: Vishnu (BBC) bt Sanjay (Belgaum); Moorthy (MEG) bt Pupindar (IAF); Quarterfinals: Sanjay (Belgaum) bt Karthik (YS); Vishnu (BBC) bt Sumanth Karmakar (YS); Pupinder (IAF) bt Muthu Pandi (RBC); Moorthy (MEG) bt Nandan (SAK).

Welterweight: Semifinals: Vinith Kalyan (RWF) bt Amin (RBC); Romeo (SAK) bt Md Ali (BBC).

Light heavyweight: Semifinals: Sanjeev Kumar (IAF) bt Vijay Bharath (SAK); Robin Peter (IBC) bt Mark Stephan (EBC).

Heavyweight: Semifinals: Irfan (RBC) bt Rahul (SAK); Naveen Pujari (MEG) w/o Karthikeyan.

Super Heavyweight: Semifinals: Vijay Kumar bt Naveen Kumar.

Juniors: Bantamweight: Karthik (MEG) bt Divyadarshan (EW); Pradeep (YS) bt Kiran Kumar (SAK).

Lightweight: Sanjay (EW) bt Dedan (RBC).

Light Welterweight: BC Thamang (RBC) bt Clinton (SAK); Eswar (MEG BSC) bt Virendra.

Welterweight: Omkardass (MEG BSC) bt Kishor Kumar (IBC).

Sub-Juniors: Roopesh (Kodagu) bt Preekundu (RMS); KR Ponnappa (Kodagu) bt Dinesh (KRBC); KA Subbaiah bt DK Chettan (Kodagu); Niroop (RBC) bt Arun Kumar (Kodagu); Bridhar (Kodagu) bt CM Nachappa (Kodagu); Vinay Kumar (MEG BSC) bt Narendra (Kodagu); Rajasimmaha (Balaji) bt Nitish (EW); Monu (Balaji) bt MD Saib (EW); Sabari (MEG BSC) bt Awsoor Rattur (RMS); Vimal Venkatesh (RBC) bt Abhishek Singh (RMS); Devarmai (MEG BSC) bt Ajit Kumar (Kodagu); Manjunath bt Devaraj (KRBC) Jorower (MEG BSC) bt Devendar Singh (EW); Sahil (MEG BSC) bt Maria Richard (EW).

Comments (+)