Andhra Pradesh bifurcation issue: 16 TDP MLAs resign

Andhra Pradesh bifurcation issue: 16 TDP MLAs resign

Sixteen MLAs of main opposition Telugu Desam Party faxed their resignations to Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker's office tonight, protesting that the Centre did not give firm assurance on protecting the interests of people in the proposed Andhra Pradesh state after the separation of Telangana.

Six MLAs each from Anantapuram and Guntur districts, three from Krishna district and one from Kadapa district tendered their resignations, party sources said.

Payyavula Keshav, MLA from Anantapuram district, told PTI over phone that "we have faxed our resignations to the Speaker's office".

TDP sources said the resignations were in protest against the Centre's "failure" to come out with a firm assurance on development of Andhra-Rayalaseema regions upon bifurcation.

"The Centre also did not give any commitment on protecting the interests of farmers and youth," they added.

Sources said more MLAs of the party were expected to quit from the House tomorrow in the backdrop of growing protests in Andhra-Rayalaseema against the move to bifurcate AP.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!