Arun stand-by for Sushil

Arun stand-by for Sushil

Wrestler sure of participating in Wrestling meet

Arun stand-by for Sushil

Arun Kumar has been named stand-by for London Olympics silver medallist grappler Sushil Kumar in the 22-member Indian team announced for the upcoming World Wrestling Championships to be held at Budapest, Hungary.

One wrestler each has been named in the seven weight categories in three divisions -- Greco Roman, Freestyle and women -- for the marquee event to be held from September 16-22, except in the 66kg freestyle category, which Sushil represents.

Although the Indian team, which last participated in the Asian Championships here in April, has already left for a training camp in the host city, star grappler Sushil along with injured Yogeshwar Dutt would be flying next week.

“I will be going to Budapest for the Championships. I will definitely take part in the competition,” said Sushil.

Sushil last took part in a competitive bout at the London Olympics where he lost in the gold medal match. A shoulder injury has kept the 30-year-old out of action for over an year, but Sushil said “it has completely healed now”.

Arun had won a gold medal at the Junior Asian Wrestling Championships at Jakarta in 2011.

London Olympics bronze medallist Yogeshwar has already been forced out of the championships due to a recurring knee problem and Bajrang, who claimed bronze in the Asian championships earlier this year in Yogeshwar’s absence, has replaced him in the 60kg category.

Last year’s bronze medallist at the world event, Babita too could not make the cut for the women’s 55kg category as she lost to junior Pooja Dhanda in the trials last month.
Another junior wrestler Satyawart Kadian, who won bronze at the World Junior wrestling championships last month, has been rewarded with a slot in the senior team.

Squad: Freestyle: Amit Kumar (55kg), Bajrang (60kg), Arun Kumar/ Sushil Kumar (66kg), Narsingh Pancham Yadav (74kg), Pawan Kumar (84kg), Satyawart Kadian (96kg), Hitender (120kg).

Greco Roman: Gaurav Sharma (55kg), Ravinder Singh (60kg), Sandeep Tulsi Yadav (66kg), Rajbir Chhikara (74kg), Harpreet Singh (84kg), Hardeep (96kg), Naveen (120kg).
Women: Nirmala Devi (48kg), Vinesh (51kg), Pooja Dhanda (55kg), Geeta (59kg), Geetika Jakhar (63kg), Navjot Kaur (67kg), Jyoti (72kg).