YMK Trust presents annual academic excellency awards

YMK Trust presents annual academic excellency awards

Speaking to media persons on the sidelines of the programme, Chancellor of Yenepoya University Y Abdulla Kunhi said that the awards are given to students excelling in SSLC, PUC and undergraduate degree examinations and that as many as 209 students and 9 institutions from Dakshina Kannada and Kasargod districts were selected for the award this year irrespective of religious background.

The award consists of cash scholarships ranging from Rs 10,000 to Rs 2,000 and certificates, he added.

The Founder Vice Chancellor of Mangalore and Goa Universities Prof B Sheik Ali was the chief guest on the occasion, who distributed the awards to the winners.

Later, he was felicitated by Chairman of Yenepoya Moideen Kunhi Memorial Educational and Charitable Trust Y Mohammed Kunhi.

Ammabba Hajabba, an illiterate man who founded a school and fought with people in power for its existence, was also felicitated on the occasion by Abdulla Kunhi.

Recipients of the 10 free seats in Yenepoya Medical and Dental Colleges were also honoured on the occasion. Y Mohammed Kunhi presided over the function.

Vice Chancellor of Yenepoya University Prof Syed Akheel Ahmed, Registrar Dr Ravi Vasvani, Director (Academics and Administration) Prof P C M Kunhi, Trustees of YMK Trust Dr C P Habeeb Rahaman, B A Hajee Mohiudeen, Selection Committee members M B Abdul Rahman, Prof N Ismail and B S Ibrahim were present on the occasion.