AISA sweeps JNUSU polls

Last Updated 16 September 2013, 09:35 IST

Ultra-left All India Students Association today swept the Jawaharlal Nehru University Student Union elections, winning all the four top posts.

AISA candidate Akbar Chowdhary defeated DSF's Ishan Anand, SFI's Rahul N, NSUI's Pran Veer Singh, ABVP's Alok Kumar Singh and Concerned Students' Chandrasen for the president's post.

Kazakh national Akhmetbekov Zhassulan, contesting from Chhatra Janta Dal(U), was also in the presidential race.

AISA candidates Anubhuti Agnes Bara, Sandeep Saurav and Sarfaraz Hamid were elected vice president, general secretary and joint secretary respectively.

"All four central panel seats of JNUSU have been won by AISA candidates," JNUSU Election Commissioner Gyanprakash said.

Democratic Students Federation (DSF) candidate Sonam Goyal was leading in the race for joint secretary till last evening but was overtaken by Hamid.

The results of the JNUSU elections, held on September 13, were announced this morning.

There were eight candidates in the fray for the post of president, five for vice-president, six for general secretary and three for joint secretary.

Last year, V Lenin Kumar, a candidate from the SFI-JNU (now known as DSF) and All India Students Federation alliance, was elected as JNUSU president. The other three posts had gone to AISA.

(Published 16 September 2013, 09:27 IST)

Follow us on