BBMP gets its 12 standing committees

The Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike on Monday formed its 12 standing committees comprising 11 members each.

The committee members would elect chairpersons on Tuesday.

The probable names to head the standing committees are: Dr M S Shivaprasad (Taxation and Finance Committee), K Shivakumar (Health), K Umesh Shetty (Town Planning), R Chandrashekharaiah (Appeals), Syed Haseena Taj (Social Justice), A H Basavaraju (Ward Level Works), B Somashekhar (Major Works), Y R Gowramma (Marketing), Rekha Kadresh (Accounts), Lakshmikanth Reddy (Administration), A Kodanda Reddy (Education) and M Muniraju (Horticulture).

A race has now begun among the Congress corporators for the post of leader of Opposition in the BBMP Council. According to sources in the Palike, Madivala corporator Manjunath Raju, a close aide of the district in-charge Minister Ramalinga Reddy may get the post.

Comments (+)