Jagadeesh, Priyanka strike gold

Jagadeesh, Priyanka strike gold

 Jagadeesh Chandra and Priyanka S G struck gold for Karnataka on the second day of the National inter-zonal junior athletics championships on Monday.

Jagadeesh won the boys under-20 400M hurdles gold in 53.58 seconds while Priyanka topped in the girls under-18 100M hurdles, timing 14.59 seconds.

Karnataka also won two silver and three bronze medals on the day. Meghana Shetty timed 14.58 seconds to finish second in the girls under-20 100M hurdles while Gaviswamy Manohar claimed the second spot in the boys under-18 hammer throw with an effort of 59.35 metres.

Chandini B V came third in the girls under-20 triple jump with a leap of 10.94 metres while Simona Mascarenhas finished third in the girls under-18 400M hurdles in 1:06.45.
In the boys, under-18 110M hurdles, Santosh picked up the bronze clocking 14.65 seconds.

Results (winners only):
Boys: U-20: 1500M: Shailendra Singh (Bihar) 3:58.18.  110M hurdles: Tarundeep Singh (Punjab) 14.33 seconds. 400M hurdles: Jagadeesh Chandra (Karnataka) 53.58 seconds. Pole vault: Anuj (Haryana) 4.30 metres. 10000M walk: Gaurav Kumar (Uttarakhand) 50:50.63.
U-18:1500M: Twinkle Tomy (Kerala) 4:02.38. 110M hurdles: Maymon Poulose (Kerala) 14.37 seconds.  400M hurdles: Sumit Kumar Jaiswal (Maharashtra) 53.81 seconds. Pole vault: Deepak (Haryana) 4.10 metres. Shot put: Jaspal Singh (Haryana) 16.99 metres. Discus throw: Amit Kumar (Rajasthan) 52.98 metres. Hammer throw: Sabeel Ahmed (Uttar Pradesh) 60.19 metres.
U-16:1000M: Narayan Satish (Maharashtra) 2:35.81. 100M hurdles: Debarjun Murmu (Bengal) 14.17 seconds. Hammer throw: Pradeep Kumar (Rajasthan) 60.82 metres. U-14: 600M: R Naveen (Tamil Nadu) 1:23.22.
Girls: U-20: 1500M: Preeti Lamba (Delhi) 4:42.56. 100M hurdles: P Deepika (Tamil Nadu) 14.47. 400M hurdles: P Merlin (Kerala) 1:03.21. High jump: Jyoti (Haryana) 1.63 metres. Triple jump: Bhairabhi Roy (Bengal) 12.10 metres. Discus throw: V Nandhini (Tamil Nadu) 39.70 metres.
U-18: 1500M: Preeti Mehta (Uttarakhand) 4:49.98. 100M hurdles: Priyanka S G (Karnataka) 14.59 seconds. 400M hurdles: Gowri Rani Hansda (Bengal) 1:05.33.  Long jump: G Karthika (Tamil Nadu) 5.62 metres.Triple jump: Athira Surendran (Kerala) 12.09 metres.  High jump: Juelly (Maharashtra) 1.63 metres. Javelin: Gopika Narayanan (Kerala) 42.44 metres.
U-16: 1000M: Nitu Kumari (Jharkhand) 2:54.48. 100M hurdles: S Priyadarshini (Tamil Nadu) 14.93 seconds. Shot put: J Gowrishankari (Tamil Nadu) 12.23 metres.
Long jump: Diphna Jose (Kerala) 5.42 metres. U-14: 600M: Samyasri L (Tamil Nadu) 1:40.84.