Puneet retains Best Actor award

Last Updated 25 October 2013, 20:34 IST

The redrawn State film awards for 2010-11 were announced on Friday with Power Star Puneet Rajkumar and actor-turned-politician Ramya being adjudged best actors for their roles in ‘Jackie’ and ‘Sanju Weds Geetha’, respectively.

‘Maagiya Kaala’ directed by K Shivarudraiah has been adjudged the best film followed by ‘Tamassu’ (second best) directed by Agni Sridhar and ‘Manasa’ (third best) directed by Kudlu Ramakrishna. In all, 29 awards have been announced for various categories.

The announcement of the awards come a little over two months after the State government annulled a previous list (announced in April) following the High Court questioning the selection criteria.

Former president of Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce Basant Kumar Patil and actor Priya Hassan had filed separate petitions in the High Court challenging the awards, claiming there was a conflict of interest by a couple of selection committee members.

While Patil claimed that the constitution of the selection committee was vitiated, as three members had competing interest, Hassan contended that the selection process was vitiated as two members of the advisory board had links with two films selected for the awards.

During the hearing, the court had even asked the State government why the irregularities alleged in the selection of films for the award should not be handed over to the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) for a probe.

In August, the government told the court that the selection list of the State film awards for 2010-11 had been annulled and a panel reconstituted to prepare a fresh one.

Announcing the new list on Friday, veteran director and chairman of the selection committee Bhagawan said the eight-member panel had arrived at the new award list purely on the merit of the films. The panel had watched 50 films (shortlisted for the awards) before arriving at the final list of awards.

Of the 26 awards in general category, only four awards match with the list of April 2013. These are Best Actor —Puneet Rajkumar (for the film Prithvi in the previous list and for Jackie in the new list); Best Male Dubbing Artiste - Sringeri Ramanna; Best Child Artiste: Baby Prakruthi; Best Playback Singer (Male) — Rabindra Soragavi.

The Upendra-starrer Super, which had been adjudged the best film in the previous list, has only got a special award for technical innovation.

At the same time, the three major awards for lifetime contributions has been retained to the same persons as in the previous list.

Kannada actor and Housing minister M H Ambareesh has been retained for the Dr Vishnuvardhan Award for lifetime achievement in various fields in the industry. The award carries a purse of Rs 2 lakh and a gold-plated plaque.

The Dr Rajkumar Award for outstanding contribution to the Kannada film industry has been retained to veteran actor S Shivaram, while veteran director Bhargava has been chosen for the Puttanna Kanagal Award for lifetime achievement. Both the awards also carry a purse of Rs 2 lakh and a gold-plated plaque.

Minister of State for Information Santosh Lad said the awards will be presented in Bangalore next month.

There was also a proposal to present the awards along with the film awards for 2011-2012 for the selection committee has been constituted but the awards are yet to be announced.

The revised list

Dr Rajkumar Award: S Shivaram
Puttanna Kanagal Award: Bhargava
Dr Vishnuvardhan Award (for live time achievement): Ambareesh
First Best Film: Maagiya Kaala
Second Best Film: Tamassu
Third Best Film: Manasa
Film with best social message: Byari (a Beary language film)
Best Regional Film: Na Puttina Mann
Best Childrens Film: Onduralli
Subbaiah Naidu Award for Best Actor: Puneet Rajkumar (Film - Jackie)
Best Actress: Ramya (Film - Sanju weds Geetha)
Best Supporting Actor: (Ashwath Award) Achut Kumar  (Film - Hejjegalu)
Best Supporting Actress: Harshika Poonacha (Film - Tamassu)
Best Male Dubbing Artiste: Sringeri Ramanna (Film - Veerabhahu)
Best Female Dubbing Artiste: Anushree (Film - Murali meets Meera )
Best Story Writer: Eshwarachandra (Film -Maagiya Kaala)
Best Screenplay: Agni Sridhar (Film - Tamassu)
Best Dialogue Writer: Lakshmipathi Kolar (Bhagavathi Kadu)
Best Cinematographer: B L Babu (Onduralli)
Best Music Director: Jayashree Aravind (Onduralli)
For Best Sound Recording: Palani D Senapathi (Kalgejje)
For Best Editing: Suresh Urs (Idondlu Idu)
Best Art Director: Ismail (Sanju weds Geetha)
Best Child Artiste (Boy): Master Channakumar (Onduralli)
Best Child Artiste (Girl): Baby Prakruthi (Hejjegalu)
Best Lyricist: A Bangaru (Kalgejje)
Best Playback Singer – Male: Ravindra Soragavi (Puttakkana Highway)
Best Playback Singer – Female: Raksha Priyarao (Onduralli)
Special Award: Super (for technical innovation)

(Published 25 October 2013, 20:34 IST)

Follow us on