Dhoni named ODI team captain

Dhoni named ODI team captain

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has found a place in both ICC Test team of the year as well as the ODI side of the year but surprisingly Virat Kohli, who has been a consistent run-getter in the 50-over format in the last one year, didn't figure in the ODI team, announced here today.

ICC's Chief Executive David Richardson said while Kohli was extremely unlucky to have missed out on in the LG ICC ODI Team of the year, led by compatriot Dhoni, but he should be making it next year.

"Kohli is one of the players who should consider himself unlucky not to get selected, especially in the ODI team of the year. In these awards it's more a case of who gets left out rather than who gets in. There's tremendous competition for places," said Richardson after announcing the ICC's Test and ODI teams of 2013 at a media conference here.

"It will be very surprising if Kohli does not make the team next year," he added.
In the period under consideration for selection, August 7, 2012 to August 25, 2013, the Delhi batsman, who is often referred to as the bold new face of Indian cricket, had amassed 689 runs, including two tons, at an average of 40.52.

India's World Cup winning skipper Dhoni, who made the list for the sixth consecutive year, was expectedly named the captain.

Also included in this squad was left handed India opener Shikhar Dhawan and all rounder Ravindra Jadeja, both of whom have played stellar roles in their team having a golden run in ODI format, including the ICC Champions Trophy that India won last June in England.

Dhoni has also been picked in the ICC Test Team of the year, along with teammates Cheteshwar Pujara and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin as 12th man.

England captain Alastair Cook was named the captain of the Test side.

The Ranchi-born wicketkeeper-batsman is also in the running for winning the ICC Cricketer of the year along with five other players who were short listed today. He is also in with a chance to win the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year with compatriots Dhawan and Jadeja.

Ashwin and Pujara are in the running for the ICC Test Cricketer of the year with four others.

It is the fourth year in a row for South Africa's Hashim Amla, while England captain Alastair Cook, who is named as the Test captain, appears in the side for the third straight year.

The teams were chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC's Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

South Africa's pace spearhead Dale Steyn was named in Test side for sixth year in a row.

Richardson also announced the short-lists for the ICC Awards 2013, which will be broadcast as a TV show on December 14, in a departure from the annual dinner function, because of the tight playing schedule of various players.

"I'd like to congratulate all those selected for the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the year. Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and are thoroughly deserving of the recognition they receive," said Richardson.

"It is always tough to decide on the Test and ODI teams of the year, with so many worthy candidates to consider based on the players' performances between August 7, 2012 and August 25, 2013," said Kumble, chairman of the awards selection panel.

"The selection panel had a lengthy debate on all the top performers during the performance period and a number of combinations were considered," he said.

"The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the period under observation, but we also took into account other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation and the like. But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out.

"In the panel's expert opinion, it has selected the best Test and ODI Teams based on performances over the past 12 months," he added.

Kumble was joined on the panel by former Pakistan fast bowler and captain Waqar Younis, former England captain and wicketkeeper Alec Stewart, former South Africa batsman Graeme Pollock, and former New Zealand women's player Catherine Campbell.

Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The awards period under consideration includes the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012, the ICC Women's World Cup 2013 held in India, the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 held in England and Wales, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series.

The ICC Awards is now in its 10th year and this year will be broadcast as a TV show. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008), Bengaluru (2010) and Colombo (2012).

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order): Alastair Cook (Eng, captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind- Wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind).

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL). 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ).

Short-lists of nominees for individual awards --

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), MS Dhoni (Ind) and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind), Michael Clarke (Aus), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) and Dale Steyn (SA).

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), MS Dhoni (Ind), Misbah ul-Haq (Pak), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

Comments (+)