BJP workers to collect donations from 100m households

BJP workers to collect donations from 100m households

The BJP has decided to collect funds through workers at booth level. Party general secretary Ananth Kumar told reporters: “We will seek votes and donations ranging between Rs.10 and Rs.1,000 from around 100 million households across the country.”

The party has also formalised new slogans —‘Modi for PM’ and ‘one vote, one note’ — to reach out to the voters ahead of elections.  The one vote, one note slogan appears to a copy of AAP style of fund raising.

In a meeting attended by chief ministers —Narendra Modi of Gujarat, Shivraj Singh Chauhan of MP, Vasundhra Raje of Rajasthan, Raman Singh of Chattisgarh and Manohar Parikar of Goa – and top central leaders including chief Rajnath Singh, L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, it also discussed bringing back of  regional leaders Keshubhai Patel and B S Yeddurappa into the party fold to bolster prospects in the 2014 elections.

The BJP has had one round of discussion on Yedurappa’s coming back with central and state leadership in the past but a consensus could not emerge given strong reservation Advani had on his re-induction. Advani was of the view that the BJP cannot take a moral high ground in the fight against corruption if it fails to take a stand against it within the party. A section of the party also believes that the Aam Admi’s Party raising bar in the country’s politics has also created hurdles in Yeddurappa’s return to the saffron outfit.

Party leaders said that Yeddyurappa has been sounded of his induction and only timing and the manner of bringing him back has to be sorted out.  BJP president Rajnath Singh had an interaction with Yeddyurappa and his son during his visit to Karnataka on Monday.
Similarly,  former BJP Gujarat chief minister Keshubhai Patel’s home coming is also being worked and a positive indication was reflected in his Bharat Patel’s joining the leading opposition party on Monday. Senior Patel had quit the BJP to form the Gujarat Parivartan Party, which has two MLAs in the Gujarat Assembly.

Comments (+)