34 more taluks declared drought-hit

The government has declared another 34 taluks in the State as drought-affected.

According to a government notification, the newly added taluks under the drought list are spread over 19 districts. A decision to this effect was taken by a Cabinet sub-committee on December 12. Scanty rainfall and moisture in these taluks have made the government to take the decision.

A few taluks in the North Karnataka region, Malnad districts, Hassan, Chikmagalur and Uttara Kannada districts are now declared as drought-hit. The government had earlier declared 64 taluks drought-affected.

Some of the newly added taluks to the list are - Mundagod, Yellapur, Kadur, Hassan, Arasikere, Channarayapatna, Nagamangala, Mandya, Doddaballapur and Gulbarga.

Comments (+)