Red beacons restricted to 13 categories of dignitaries

Red beacons restricted to 13 categories of dignitaries

 After a rap from the Supreme Court over the misuse of red lights, the Union Ministry of Road Transport and Highways is set to limit the list of dignitaries who can use beacons on their vehicles to 13.

“A list of 13 categories of dignitaries who can use beacon lights has been prepared and sent it for the Law Ministry to seek legal opinion,” a senior official from the ministry told Deccan Herald.

If the Law Ministry approves the list as it is, then the beacons light with flasher will be allowed only to President, vice-president, prime minister, chief justice of India, Lok Sabha speaker, Union Cabinet ministers and Supreme Court judges.

Besides, the chief election commissioner, comptroller and auditor general, Rajya Sabha deputy chairman, Lok Sabha deputy speaker, Union ministers of state as well as the attorney general can use red lights on top of their vehicles without flasher.

Earlier, the Supreme Court said that only high dignitaries and persons holding constitutional posts should be allowed to use red lights on top of their vehicles. 

Expressing unhappiness over the widespread misuse of red lights by politicians and bureaucrats, the apex court asked the government restrict its usage.

After getting the approval from the Law Ministry, the list will be sent to the Cabinet Secretariat for final approval.

The process will complete in a couple of weeks.  For the states, the respective state governments can issue fresh list after the Centre approves its modified list.

However, the list should contain only its dignitaries like governor, chief minister, chief justice of high court, high court judges, cabinet ministers and state ministries, explained the official. 

Though the emergency services like fire, police and ambulances can also have the light on top of their vehicles but it should be only blue or white colour, said the official.

Currently, at the Centre level total 12 categories of dignitaries can use red light with flasher on top of their vehicles while 15 categories of posts use red light without flasher.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0