Aam Aadmi Party to release more names of 'corrupt' MPs

Two Lok Satta Party members join AAP

Aam Aadmi Party to release  more names of 'corrupt' MPs

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the coming days will see more MPs fret and fume, including  a few from Karnataka, when it releases names of 137 more who are ‘corrupt’. 

It plans to field candidates against all 162 ‘corrupt’ MPs across the country in case all of them are going to test their electoral fortunes. Party president Aravind Kejriwal released names of 25 MPs, who, according to him were ‘corrupt’.

Briefing reporters in Bangalore on Saturday,  AAP National Executive Member Prithvi Reddy said MPs have been dubbed corrupt based on the affidavits filed by them before the Election Commission when they contested the elections. 

“The list released is based on the self-declaration of candidates before they became MP. The details are in public domain. More names will be added to the list in the coming days. Some more MPs from Karnataka too may figure. Every such corrupt MP would face an AAP candidate,” Reddy said when asked whether the party is in a position to substantiate its corruption charges.  

Reddy, however, did not reveal names of persons who would enter the fray in Karnataka. 

More join party

AAP got a shot in the arm with two Lok Satta Party members — Ravi Krishna Reddy, social and political activist and Shanthala Damle, who had associated herself with India Against Corruption movement — joining it. In addition, Pascal Alan Nazareth, retired career diplomat and trustee of Sarvodaya International Trust, Ramneek Bakshi, businessman and golfer, too joined AAP. 

V Balakrishnan, former Infoscion, who was present, donated Rs 25 lakh to the party.On whether he supported the manner in which the party conducted itself in Delhi after coming to power, including the chief minister staging a dharna, Balakrishnan said if chief minister himself has to stage an agitation then there must have been some problem with the governance. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0