Two members give notice for no-confidence motion agst govt

Two members give notice for no-confidence motion agst govt

In more problems for the Congress on the Telangana issue, a Congress and a TDP member today gave notices for a no-confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government over its plan to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.

Sabbam Hari (Congress) and M Venugopala Reddy (TDP) gave the notices shortly before the Lok Sabha met for the day, a day after Telangana issue rocked Parliament with those for and against formation of the new state demonstrating for their respective cause.

The two MPs separately confirmed giving notices for no-confidence motion.

In December last, six Congress MPs from Seemandhra region had given notice for moving a no confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government.

Any move to bring a no confidence motion requires the support of some 50 odd members — ten per cent of the membership of the House.

The 15th Lok Sabha has not yet witnessed any no confidence motion. A plan by Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress to bring it over a year back came a cropper as it failed to find the requisite support. Trinamool has 19 members in Lok Sabha.

The MPs from Seemandhra, as well as those from the TDP, have been protesting the division of Andhra Pradesh in the House.

Telangana issue had rocked both Houses of Parliament on the first day of the extended Winter Session yesterday, leading to adjournment of the Lok Sabha for the day and repeated adjournments of Rajya Sabha.

Both the Houses saw noisy scenes as soon as they met for the day with members from Andhra Pradesh -- from Telangana as well as Seemandhra regions -- cutting across party lines storming the Well. Those protesting included members from ruling Congress.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0