Council polls: 159 candidates file nominations for 25 seats

Council polls: 159 candidates file nominations for 25 seats

The Mysore Local Authorities constituency which has two seats has received the maximum number of nominations with 24 candidates filing their nomination papers. Bidar local authorities constituency has received only four nominations. As many as four ‘JD(S)’ candidates and six ‘Congress’ candidates have filed their nominations from the Mysore Local Authorities constituency.

Many rebels have filed their papers as independents. The Congress is facing rebels in Mandya, Hassan, Gulbarga, Dharwad; the BJP is facing an embarrassing situation in Kodagu where sitting party MLA Appachu Ranjan’s brother Suja Kushalappa has filed his candidature as a rebel.  In Hassan, Congress leader Shivanagowda has filed his papers as an independent.

State Chief Electoral Officer C S Suranjana told reporters in Bangalore on Monday that the scrutiny of the papers will take place on Tuesday. December 4 is the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

Suranjana said as per the direction of the Election Commission, there will be no model code of conduct during the polls. However, the provisions of the Representation of People Act -1951 will be utilised to prevent and check electoral malpractices. The nominations filed in other constituencies is as follows: Gulbarga (11), Bijapur (6), Belgaum (13), Uttara Kannada (5), Dharwad (12), Raichur (6), Bellary (8), Chitradurga (6), Shimoga (9), Dakshina Kannada (7), Chikamagalur (4), Hassan (5), Tumkur (7), Mandya (4), Bangalore (4), Bangalore (rural) - (5), Kolar  (11) and Kodagu (11).

The BJP finalised the candidature of Surendra Gowda for the Kolar seat. The party has decided to contest only one seat from the Dakshina Kannada constituency. In all, the BJP will be contesting 24 out of the 25 seats.