Bengal trounce Tamil Nadu

Bengal trounce Tamil Nadu

Pacers Mohammed Shami and Ashok Dinda shared seven wickets between them to trigger a collapse that saw Bengal beat Tamil Nadu by 77 runs and storm into the semifinals of the Vijay Hazare one-day cricket tournament at the Eden Gardens here on Tuesday. 

Defending a paltry 168, Shami (4/25) and Dinda (3/13) ripped apart Tamil Nadu top order with some charged up bowling to reduce the visitors to 25 for five in the 10th over and eventually bundled out Tamil Nadu for 90 in 33.5 overs.

Dinda gave the Bengal their first breakthrough by seeing off S Anirudha, who edged to second slip. Shami then joined the party with wickets of Baba Aparajith (12) and Subramaniam Badrinath (0) in successive overs. He took a spectacular running catch off his own bowling to dismiss Badrinath.

There was no respite for the star-studded Tamil Nadu top order with the pace duo bowling in tandem for 13 overs. They also accounted for the prized wickets of Dinesh Karthik (5), Ravichandran Ashwin (0) and Vijay Shankar (6). 

Shami’s first spell read 6-0-13-3, while Dinda’s corresponding spell read 7-3-12-2. Murali Vijay was the lone Tamil Nadu batsmen who batted with patience before Veer Pratap Singh ended his stay at the wicket for 24 off 85 balls after Sayan Sekhar Mondal took a fine catch at deep fine leg. 

With wickets falling regularly at the other end, Vijay looked frustrated and went for a big heave to clear the ropes but only to lose his wicket.

Brief scores: Bengal: 167 all out in 42.1 overs (Saurashish Lahiri 32, Laxmi Ratan Shukla 30; Yo Mahesh 4-23) bt Tamil Nadu: 90 all out in 33.5 overs (Murali Vijay 24; Mohammed Shami 4-25, Ashok Dinda 3-13).