Chipli's ton powers Socials

Chipli's ton powers Socials

Cricket KSCA T20 meet

Fiery 31-year-old batsman Bharath Chipli sent Bangalore United Cricket Club bowlers on a leather hunt en route to a quickfire century to carry Social Cricketers to the semifinals of the KSCA T20 tournament here.

The Delhi Daredevils’ player smashed seven fours and nine sixes to get to 104 from a mere 43 balls to guide Social Cricketers to 184 for two in 17.3 overs for a resounding eight-wicket victory at the M Chinnaswamy stadium on Saturday.

Batting first, BUCC looked well on course for a berth in the last-four stage as they scored a mammoth 180 for five in 20 overs with contributions from Prithvi Vardarajan (50), Rajeev H (34 not out) and Sharath Srinivas (37 not out). Chipli was successful with his medium pace as he scalped a couple of wickets, but unfortunately for BUCC, the right-hander was yet to leave an indelible impact on the high-scoring encounter.

Brief scores (quarterfinals): Bangalore United Cricket Club: 180/5 in 20 overs (Sharath Srinivas 37 n.o., Prithvi Vardarajan 50, Rajeev H 34 n.o.; Deepak Chougule 2-57, Bharath Chipli 2-27) lt to Social Cricketers: 184/2 in 17.3 overs (Bharath Chipli 104, Sudhindra Shinde 35 n.o.).

Jawahar Sports Club: 183/4 in 20 overs (Nischal D 46, Shishir Bhavane 63) bt Malleswaram Gymkhana: 156/9 in 20 overs (Gaurav Goel 36, Kranti Kumar M 41, Manjunath T 27; KP Rohan 2-15, Goutham K 4-23).

Bangalore Occassionals: 165/6 in 20 overs (Kayan Abbas 47, Shoiab Manager 39 n.o.; Nithin Naidu 2-17, HS Sharath 2-43) bt Herons Cricket Club: 129/8 in 20 overs (Arjun Hoysala 38; Sunil Kumar M 2-20, S Prashanth 2-18, Addul Majid 2-14).

Swastic Union Cricket Club (1): 176/5 in 20 overs (R Samarth 77, Udit B Patel 25, Abrar Kazi 26 n.o.; Aravind S 2-29, Pavan Deshpande 2-19) lt to Vultures Cricket Club: 177/4 in 18.2 overs (KL Rahul 33, A Mithun 70, Karun Nair 55; Udit B Patel 2-24).

Semifinal line-up: Jawahar Sports Club vs Social Cricketers (9.30 am); Bangalore Occassionals vs Vultures Cricket Club (1.30 pm) (both matches at the M Chinnaswamy stadium).