Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team of the tournament

Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team of the tournament

Dhoni named captain of ICC World T20 team of the tournament

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Monday announced the men's team of the tournament of the ICC World Twenty20 with India's Mahendra Singh Dhoni being named the captain.

The team includes four players from India, two from both South Africa and West Indies, and one representative each from Australia, the Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was aimed at being suited for Bangladesh conditions, on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Selection panel chairman and member ICC Match Referees, David Boon, said: "It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament.

"As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team."

The panel faced a difficult choice for a number of positions, and players who were considered but who did not ultimately make the team included India's Amit Mishra, Pakistan's Ahmed Shehzad, the South Africa duo of AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews and Rangana Herath, and West Indies' Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine.

The team (in terms of batting order):

Rohit Sharma (India) - 200 runs

Stephan Myburgh (Netherlands) - 224 runs

Virat Kohli (India) - 319 runs

Jean Paul Duminy (South Africa) - 187 runs

Glenn Maxwell (Australia) - 147 runs

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India - captain, wicketkeeper) - 50 runs, six dismissals

Darren Sammy (West Indies) - 101 runs

Ravichandran Ashwin (India) - 11 wickets

Dale Steyn (South Africa) - nine wickets

Samuel Badree (West Indies) - 11 wickets

Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) - five wickets

12th Player: Krishmar Santokie (West Indies) - eight wickets