Glittering ceremony marks BCCI Awards night

Glittering ceremony marks BCCI Awards night

Glittering ceremony marks BCCI Awards night

Rahul Dravid poses with the BCCI Special Award in Mumbai on Sunday. AP

Mohinder Amarnath emulated his father Lala by receiving the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award, while the Polly Umrigar award for the Indian Cricketer of the Year went to the supremely consistent Gautam Gambhir.

Taking a trip down memory lane, Amarnath recalled his formative years with fondness, had the inevitable acerbic word or two for officialdom, and credited his late father for being the driving force behind his career. “Don’t lost heart, was my father’s message to me,” he said after receiving the trophy and a cash award of Rs 15 lakh from Shashank Manohar, the president of the BCCI. “My motto when I played cricket was simple – if you shy away from fast bowling, it’s time to hang up your boots.” With the Indian and Sri Lankan teams in attendance, Gambhir said, “It’s a great honour to be the third recipient of this award. Last year, Viru said he was happy to be the next to win this award after his idol, Sachin Tendulkar. I am delighted I have received this award one year after my favourite player. Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid received special awards, the former for completing two decades in international cricket and the latter for breaking Mark Waugh’s world record for the most Test catches.

Manohar also announced a cash award of Rs 25 lakh for every member of the Indian team that climbed to the number one spot, Rs 10 each for the support staff and an equal amount for the five members of the selection panel at a function graced by former Indian skipper Anil Kumble, among others.

List of awardees: Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award: Mohinder Amarnath.
Polly Umrigar award for Indian cricketer of the year: Gautam Gambhir.
Highest run-getter in Ranji Trophy (2008-09): Wasim Jaffer.

Highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy (2008-09): Dhawal Kulkarni and Ravindra Jadeja.
MA Chidambaram Trophy: U-16: Chirag Khurana (Mah). U-19: Harpreet Singh (MP). U-22: Neelkanth Das (Ben). Best woman cricketer (senior): Reema Malhotra (Del). Best woman cricketer (junior): Poonam Raut (Mum).

Best umpire: Amish Saheba.

Best overall performance in 2008-09: Mumbai and Punjab.

Special awards: Rahul Dravid (most catches in Test cricket).

Sachin Tendulkar: (completing two decades in international cricket).

Ranji Trophy platinum jubilee awards: Highest wicket-taker: Rajinder Goel (640 wickets).

Highest run-getter: Amarjit Kaypee (7,623 runs).

Most successful team: Mumbai (38 trophies in 75 years).

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox