Govt to give extra interest-free loan to sugar mills

Last Updated 23 June 2014, 08:30 IST

The Centre today decided to provide additional interest-free loan of up to Rs 4,400 crore to cash-starved sugar industry for paying cane arrears.

In order to bail out sugar mills that are unable to pay Rs 11,000 crore dues to sugarcane growers, the government also decided to hike sugar import duty to 40 per cent from the existing 15 per cent and extend subsidy of Rs 3,300 per tonne on export till September this year.

Efforts will also be made to ensure 10 per cent ethanol blending with petrol.

These decisions were taken at a high-level meeting called by Food Minister Ram Vilas Paswan following the Prime Minister's direction.

Principal Secretary to the PM Nripendra Misra and Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth were also present in the meeting.

After the meeting, Paswan said: "We have taken four key decisions. We have decided to extend the interest-free loan given against excise duty paid by sugar mills for five years instead of three years."

Mills can avail additional interest-free loans of up to Rs 4,400 crore from banks, he said, adding that this will improve their cash flow to make cane payments.

The Minister said the department is yet to calculate the exact interest-free loans to be provided to the industry.

In December, the Centre had approved Rs 6,600 crore interest-free loans for the sugar industry exclusively for clearing sugarcane arrears. It decided to give loans via banks equivalent to the excise duty paid by the mills in the past three years.

"These decisions will be announced subject to the condition that mills give guarantee that they will clear Rs 11,000 crore sugarcane arrears at the earliest," Paswan told reporters.

"We don't have any problems to announce these incentives formally if millers are ready to make payments. If they give assurance today, we will announce incentives today itself."

Some of the decisions will be notified by concerned ministries, while some require the Cabinet nod, he added.

Besides Paswan, Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Commerce Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi, MSME Minister Kalraj Mishra, among others, were present in the meeting.

(Published 23 June 2014, 08:30 IST)

Follow us on