Mithun, Shikha emerge champs

Mithun Manjunath and Shikha Gautam posted contrasting wins to emerge champions in the under-17 boys’ and girls’ singles respectively in the Li-Ning Karnataka State badminton championship here on Thursday.

Second seed Mithun registered a come-from-behind 14-21, 21-16, 21-18 to end fourth seed Rahul Bhardwaj’s good run in the tournament and bag the title boys’ title.

The girls’ final witnessed an upset as tenth seed Shikha Gautam shocked second-seeded Mahima Aggarwal 21-18, 21-14 to wear the crown.

In the under-15 boys finals, Rahul made up for his under-17 loss by defeating Amogh R Gupta 21-6, 21-9 to emerge champion.

In the corresponding girls’ title round, top seed Ashwini Bhat K crushed Deepthi Ramesh 21-15, 21-8 to claim the title.

Results (all finals):
Boys: U-17, Singles: Mithun Manjunath bt Rahul Bharadwaj 14-21, 21-16, 21-18.
Doubles: Mithun Manjunath/ Raghu M bt Nikhilshyam Sriram/ Saif Ali 21-19, 21-14.
U-15, Singles: Rahul Bharadwaj bt Amogh R Gupta 21-6, 21-9.
Doubles: Anirudh Rajeev/ Mayuresh Janpandit bt Abhay Pai and Chirag B 19-21, 21-11, 21-18.
U-13, Singles: Ajinkya G Joshi bt Saket CS 21-17, 21-17.
Doubles: Ajinkya G Joshi/ Saket CS bt Chinmaya V/ Shashank Reddy 23-21, 21-11.
Girls: U-17, Singles: Shikha Gautam bt Mahima Aggarwal 21-18, 21-14.
Doubles: Apeksha Nayak/ Drithi Yatheesh bt Malaaika B/ Prarthana Vasudevan 21-6, 21-13.
U-15, Singles: Ashwini Bhat K bt Deepthi Ramesh 21-15, 21-8.
Doubles: Ashwini Bhat K/ Mithula UK/ Deepthi Ramesh/ Drithi Yatheesh 21-12, 21-19.
U-13, Singles: Richa Muktibodh bt Keerthana P Shroff 21-7, 21-11.
Doubles: Advika Ganesh/ Gagana NS bt Keerthana P Shroff/ Tanya Hemanth 25-23, 16-21, 21-12.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)