Thambidurai set to be elected unopposed as LS Dy Speaker

Thambidurai set to be elected unopposed as LS Dy Speaker

M Thambidurai of AIADMK is set to be elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha after all major parties, including Congress, extended support to his candidature.

Thambidurai today filed his nomination for the post and the first nomination paper was proposed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh and seconded by External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

Later, Congress also lent its support and its leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge proposed a set of nomination papers in his support and Jyotiraditya Scindia supported it.

The election for the post is scheduled for tomorrow. Official sources said at least eight more set of nominations papers are being filed in his support by NDA allies like TDP, Shiv Sena, LJP as well as non-NDA parties like BJD, TRS, YSR Congress, TMC and SP.
Earlier today, AIADMK MPs, including Thambidurai, met Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu in the latter's chamber and he emerged as the ruling party's choice for the post.

AIADMK with 37 MPs is the third largest party in Lok Sabha after BJP and Congress, which have 279 and 44 members respectively.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)