'Youth called upon to emulate Devaraj Urs'

'Youth called upon to emulate Devaraj Urs'

'Former chief minister was responsible for silent revolution'

'Youth called upon to emulate Devaraj Urs'

Former chief minister D Devaraj Urs has brought in silent revolution in the state by handing over powers to the lower strata of the society, said  Kuvempu University Vice Chancellor Mallika Ghanti.

Delivering a talk at 99th birth anniversary celebrations of former chief minister D Devaraj Urs organised by the district administration, Zilla Panchayat, Backward classes and minority department and D Devaraj Urs Backward Development Corporation here on Wednesday, she said Urs was the voice for voiceless in the state.

By taking rich persons to the confidence, he implemented land reforms act effectively. He was responsible for abolition of bonded labour system.

Youth should follow the principles of Urs.

MLC Gayathri Shanthe Gowda said that Devaraj Urs had faced challenges in administration.

MLA B B Ningaiah said that Urs had believed in social welfare the society.

Various folk artistes participated in the procession of portrait of Devaraj Urs. The procession commenced from Old taluk office premises and passed through Hanumanthappa Circle , M G Road before culminating at Kuvempu Kala Mandira.

The portrait was carried in a Bullock cart decked with flowers and mango leaves. The oxes were also decked. Nasik dolu, Veeragase, Dollu Kunita, accompanied the procession. ZP President Bhagya Ranganath, Deputy Commissioner B S Shekarappa, SP Chetan, TMC President Pushparaj and others were present.


Zilla Panchayat President Chodumada Shareen Subbaiah has said that the Devaraj Urs tried to eradicate inequality in society by implementing land reforms.

She was speaking at 99th birth anniversary celebrations of Devaraj Urs on Wednesday.

ZP Vice President Allaranda Beena Bollamma said that he had worked towards the uplifting the backward classes.

A small hand book on Devaraj Urs was released on the occasion. Kannada Sahitya Parishat district President T P Ramesh, CMC President Julekabi, SP Varthika Katiyar among others were present.