State-level awards for horticulture, farming

The University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore, has invited applications for its annual State-level awards for farming and horticulture.

The awards are Dr M H Marigowda award for horticulture and C Byregowda award for farming. The State-level award winners will get a cash prize of up to Rs 20,000.

Apart from this, district and taluk level awards for best farm practices will also be given. The awards will be conferred during Krishimela-2014.

Director of Extensions Dr N Nagaraja told Deccan Herald that an expert committee will scrutinise the applications. The entries will be accorded scores based on several parameters of innovative farming, including soil conservation, water conservation, new farming techniques and organic farming.

The applications will be available at the office of the Joint Directors of Agriculture, and respective district horticulture offices or Programme Coordinators of KVKs. They can also be downloaded from

The last date for submission of the application form is October 10. Further information can be had from Director of Extension, UAS, 080 23418883.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)