Uttar Pradesh skittle out Assam cheaply

Uttar Pradesh skittle out Assam cheaply

Anirudha Srikkanth hammers century as Tamil Nadu pile up big score against Delhi

Chasing Uttar Pradesh’s first innings total of 213, Assam were all out in just 54.4 overs.
Assam skipper Amol Muzumdar (53) waged a lone battle for the hosts but that was clearly not enough to pull his side out of the pit.

Uttar Pradesh were 25 for no loss in their second essay at the draw of stumps with Tanmay Srivastava (14) and Shivakant Shukla (2) at the crease when the day’s play was called off at North-East Frontier Railway Stadium here.

Earlier, resuming at 17 for one, Assam batsmen failed to apply themselves against the visiting bowlers and they kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

After left-arm spinner Praveen Gupta (2/9) claimed the day’s first wicket by removing Amit Sinha (8), paceman RP Singh (2/53) and his new-ball partner Shalabh Srivastava (2/42) made the life miserable for Assam batsmen.

Veteran Sairaj Bahutule (8) and middle order batsman Kunal Saikia (3) also failed to live upto expectations and departed cheaply.

Chawla, who bagged two wickets for 30 runs, also chipped in with some suffocating bowling only to make the task difficult for the Assam batsmen.

Muzumdar, who struck three boundaries during his 132-ball stay and saw his teammates departing on the other end one by one, put up a desperate effort to give his side a recovery before being run out in 50th over.

Dheeraj Jadhav, the 11th batsman for Assam, did not take the field after being absent hurt.

Muzumdar tried out four bowlers in Uttar Pradesh second innings including off-spinner Arlen Konwar who had a fiver in the first innings, but failed to produce any breakthrough.
Brief scores: At Guwahati: Uttar Pradesh: 213 and 25/0 in 9.0 overs vs Assam (O/n: 17/1 in 8 overs): 149 all out in 54.4 overs (Amol Muzumdar 53; Rudra Pratap Singh 2-53, Shalabh Srivastava 2-42; Piyush Chawla 2-30, Praveen Gupta 2-9).

At Delhi: Tamil Nadu (O/n: 278/4 in 88 overs): 463 all out in 147.4 overs (Anirudha Srikkanth 113, Chandrasekar Ganapathy 41, Lakshmipathy Balaji 42; Pradeep Sangwan 3-107, Vikas Mishra 5-112) vs Delhi: 69/2 in 27 overs.

At Rohtak: Mumbai (O/n: 238/5 in 90 overs): 400 all out in 159.4 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 143, Ramesh Powar 53, Iqbal Abdulla 45 n.o.; Joginder Sharma 2-89, Sachin Rana 4-72, Amit Mishra 2-74) vs Haryana: 34/2 in 18 overs (Dhawal Kulkarni 2-8).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily