Khan takes two-shot lead into final day

Khan takes two-shot lead into final day

Delhi’s Rashid Khan posted the tournament’s best score, a seven-under-65, to take a two-shot lead on day three of the PGTI Eagleburg Masters 2014 at the Eagleton on Thursday.

Rashid ended the penultimate round with a 16-under-200 total, two shots ahead of Bangalore’s C Muniyappa, who carded a 66 for a three-round total of 202 (14 under).Rashid tapped-in for a birdie on the fifth before picking up strokes on the two par-5s, the seventh and the 10th. Rashid, a four-time winner on the PGTI, helped himself to two more birdies on the 12th and 14th before a spectacular eagle-two on the 17th.

“I hardly missed a green today and struck it really well,” said Rashid. “Muniyappa will be a tough competitor in the final round as he is from Bangalore and knows the course conditions well. He has also won at this venue. I’ll look to repeat today’s effort in the final round and try to keep the errors out.”

Muniyappa gained one place from his overnight tied-third position. The 2009 Indian Open champion had a promising first-nine with birdies on the seventh and ninth. He added two more birdies on the 10th and 15th before sinking a mammoth 35-footer for eagle on the 17th. “I have good memories of this course as I won my only PGTI event here in 2008. I play a lot at this course so I know where to place the ball and that gives me confidence going into the final round. I’m eager for a win as I lifted my last title five years back. I’ve struggled with injuries in recent years and now feel I’m back at the top of my game,” said Muniyappa.

Ajeetesh Sandhu shot a 69 on Thursday for a three-day total of 11-under-205 while local favourite Chikkarangappa, the overnight joint leader, came up with a 72 to slip three places to tied fourth at nine-under-207. He was joined by another Bangalorean Khalin Joshi (68) in tied fourth place.

Leading scores (after 54 holes): 200: Rashid Khan (68, 67, 65); 202: C Muniyappa (69 67, 66); 205: Ajeetesh Sandhu (66, 70, 69); 207: Khalin Joshi (68, 71, 68), Manish Goyal (70, 67, 70), Harendra Gupta (69, 68, 70), S Chikkarangappa (68, 67, 72).