CTL to kick-off on Nov 17

CTL to kick-off on Nov 17

CTL to kick-off on Nov 17

Vijay Amritraj’s Champions Tennis League (CTL) will begin here on November 17 with a match between Punjab and Delhi franchise.The opening ceremony will take place in the capital on November 15.

The six-team league, stretching from November 17 to 26, boasts of top international stars like David Ferrer, Venus Williams, Agnieszka Radwanska, Martina Hingis, Mikhail Youzhny, Jelena Jankovic etc.

Somdev Devvarman, Saketh Myneni, Sanam Singh are some of the prominent Indian players.The six teams include Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Pune, Punjab and Mumbai. Each tie will comprise legend’s singles, mixed doubles, women’s singles, men’s doubles and men’s singles. 

Five sets
A tie will consist of 5 sets and each set will be considered as a ‘match’ between opponents. The match will end when the winning player / team reach 6 games. If the score is leveled 5-all, a 9 point tie-breaker will determine the winner.

The teams have been divided into two groups. All teams will play each other in a home and away format. The team with the highest number of games won in their respective group will qualify for the Grand Finale to win prize money of Rs. 1 crore. The runner-up will grab Rs 50 lakh.

Legend: Mark Philippoussis, Thomas Enqvist, Pat Cash, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Gregory Rusedski, Sergi Bruguera

International Men: Mikhail Youzhny, Feliciano Lopez, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Kevin Anderson, David Ferrer, Tommy Robredo

International Women: Martina Hingis, Venus Williams, Agnieszka Radwanska, Jelena Jankovic, Garbine Muguruza, Alize Cornet

Indian Men: Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Saketh Myneni, Sanam Krishan Singh, Somdev Devvarman, Sriram Balaji.