Railways beat Chattisgarh

The Railways men displayed good coordination and high level of physical fitness at the indoor basketball court to register their third consective win in the tournament in Group ‘A’.
For the reigning champions, the notable contributors were Yadwinder Singh (22), Harpal (15) and Vishesh (10) while Ankit with 13 baskets, Kiranpal (12) and Shravan (10) fought the losing battle for Chhattisgarh.

Against Railways unit Chattisgarh never found the rhythm going. In another Group A encounter, Uttar Pradesh outperformed Andhra Pradesh 67-52. For the winners, Santosh (12), Bhanu and Bobby 10 points each paved the way for victory while Somaya chipped in with 19 points for Andhra Pradesh, followed by PSN Raju and Lakhbir Singh who accounted for 13 and 10 points respectively.

Results: Men: Group A: Chhatisgarh: 67 bt Uttar Pradesh: 52.
Group C: Kerala: 128 bt Haryana: 77.
Group D: Rajasthan: 94 bt Jharkhand: 93. Group E: Madhya Pradesh: 84 bt Tripura: 64.
Group F: Assam: 84 bt Orissa: 64.
Women: Group E: Chandigarh: 47 bt Orissa: 23. Group F: Gujrat: 59 bt Uttrakhand: 43; West Bengal: 58 bt Rajasthan: 43.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0